Goal Zero Yeti 500 Core
Goal Zero Yeti 500 Core scores highest for CPAP / Medical Device Backup, reaching 75.2/100 on its best-fit use-case.
๐ Check Today's Price & Clip Coupons on Amazon โAs an Amazon Associate, we earn from qualifying purchases. This does not affect the score or ranking shown on this page.

The Goal Zero Yeti 500 Core is a compact portable power station with a 499Wh battery and a 500W continuous AC output (1000W surge). Its inverter is confirmed pure sine wave, so it runs CPAP machines and pump motors safely. It scores 75.2/100 for CPAP backup, its strongest fit in this dataset.
Best For
Full Specifications
| Brand | Goal Zero |
|---|---|
| Model | Yeti 500 Core |
| Category | standalone |
| Capacity | 499 Wh |
| Continuous AC Output | 500 W |
| Surge Output | 1000 W |
| Battery Chemistry | LiFePO4 |
| Inverter Type | Pure Sine Wave |
| Weight | 7.3 kg |
| Price | Not stated |
| AC Recharge Time (0-100%) | 1.5 hrs |
| Max Solar Input | Not stated |
| Warranty | 2 years |
Confirmed 2 years directly from Goal Zeroโs official warranty page for this specific โCoreโ SKU โ note this is shorter than the 5-year tier Goal Zero advertises for its unqualified โYeti 500โ 6th-gen naming, so the โCoreโ suffix appears to matter. See the full warranty comparison across all brands โ
At 500W continuous and 1000W surge, it cannot reliably start a typical well or sump pump motor. Its 499Wh battery runs a 75W CPAP with a heated humidifier for roughly 5 hours and a 100W mini-fridge for roughly 3.7 hours, after a 25% AC-inverter efficiency loss. Its maximum solar input is not confirmed in this project's research.
Can the Goal Zero Yeti 500 Core Run It? (Surge & Runtime Check)
Each row runs this unit's confirmed specs against that appliance's running watts and startup surge, then works out how long the battery would last at that load. Of these twelve: 4 safe, 0 tight, 8 overloaded.
| Appliance | Verdict | Runtime | |
|---|---|---|---|
| CPAP Machine (no humidifier) 30W |
โ Safe Match | 12.5 h | Full check โ |
| Full-Size Refrigerator / Freezer 200W / 600W surge |
โ Safe Match | 1.9 h ~4.7 h cycling |
Full check โ |
| Microwave Oven 1,200W |
โ Overloads Inverter 500W continuous output is below the appliance's 1200W running draw โ it would overload immediately. |
โ | Need to run this? See the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max on Amazon โ |
| Hair Dryer (high heat) 1,800W |
โ Overloads Inverter 500W continuous output is below the appliance's 1800W running draw โ it would overload immediately. |
โ | Need to run this? See the EcoFlow DELTA Pro 3 on Amazon โ |
| Coffee Maker 1,200W |
โ Overloads Inverter 500W continuous output is below the appliance's 1200W running draw โ it would overload immediately. |
โ | Need to run this? See the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max on Amazon โ |
| Starlink Standard Dish + Router 100W |
โ Safe Match | 3.7 h | Full check โ |
| Sump Pump (standard) 700W / 2,000W surge |
โ Overloads Inverter 500W continuous output is below the appliance's 700W running draw โ it would overload immediately. |
โ | Need to run this? See the Bluetti Elite 100 V2 on Amazon โ |
| Window Air Conditioner (standard) 800W / 2,010W surge |
โ Overloads Inverter 500W continuous output is below the appliance's 800W running draw โ it would overload immediately. |
โ | Need to run this? See the Bluetti Elite 100 V2 on Amazon โ |
| Space Heater 1,500W |
โ Overloads Inverter 500W continuous output is below the appliance's 1500W running draw โ it would overload immediately. |
โ | Need to run this? See the EcoFlow DELTA 3 Max on Amazon โ |
| Circular Saw (7-1/4 in, corded) 1,800W / 3,000W surge |
โ Overloads Inverter 500W continuous output is below the appliance's 1800W running draw โ it would overload immediately. |
โ | Need to run this? See the Anker SOLIX C1000 Gen 2 on Amazon โ |
| Gaming PC + Monitor 600W |
โ Overloads Inverter 500W continuous output is below the appliance's 600W running draw โ it would overload immediately. |
โ | Need to run this? See the Bluetti Elite 100 V2 on Amazon โ |
| Laptop 65W |
โ Safe Match | 5.8 h | Full check โ |
Runtime applies the same 75% AC-inverter efficiency factor used across this site. Where an appliance cycles rather than running flat out โ fridges, pumps, air conditioners โ the second figure is the longer real-world runtime at its duty cycle. A blank runtime means the unit cannot run the load at all, so there is nothing to calculate. Appliance figures are typical for the class, not measurements of your specific model: check its nameplate where the margin is close.
โ๏ธ Solar Charging the Goal Zero Yeti 500 Core
Maximum solar input is not confirmed for this unit in our dataset, so we are not publishing a panel recommendation for it. Connecting panels above the rated input voltage can damage the charge controller, and that is not a figure worth guessing at โ check the manufacturer's own specification before buying panels.
Pros & Cons
- Confirmed pure sine wave inverter โ safe for CPAP and other sensitive electronics
- Not expandable โ the capacity it ships with is the capacity you keep
- 1000W surge is below what a typical sump pump or standard window AC needs to start
- Shorter 2-year warranty than most competing units in this dataset
Who Should Avoid This
Look elsewhere if any of these matter to you: not expandable โ the capacity it ships with is the capacity you keep; 1000W surge is below what a typical sump pump or standard window AC needs to start; shorter 2-year warranty than most competing units in this dataset.
Verdict: where the Goal Zero Yeti 500 Core fits
Its strongest scores in this dataset are for CPAP.
๐ Check Today's Price & Clip Coupons on Amazon โMethodology & Sources
Verified: 2026-09-13 ยท Confidence: Medium ยท Method v1.0
- price_current: STILL NOT FOUND after a second dedicated search pass โ every search for 'Yeti 500 Core' pricing was dominated by results for the sibling 'Yeti 500X' instead. This may mean Core is a less common/regional SKU name rather than the primary current retail listing โ worth confirming the model naming itself is still accurate before further attempts, not just retrying the same search.
- solar_input_max_w: not stated in this pass โ only generic charge-time-per-panel-size guidance found, not a max wattage spec
- note: a separate model, Yeti 500X, exists with different specs (300W/600W surge, 505Wh, 12.9 lbs) โ do not confuse the two when sourcing further data